12th International Children’s Film Festival Bangladesh concludes

The 12th International Children’s Film Festival Bangladesh, organised by Children’s Film Society (CFS) Banghladesh, concluded recently at the Shawkat Osman Memorial Auditorium of the Central Public Library. The festival was hosted under the slogan, ‘Future in Frames’. National Professor Anisuzzaman inaugurated the festival on March 2, while Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmood was scheduled as the chief guest. Prominent filmmaker Syed Salahuddin Zaki, President of CFS, Dr Muhammed Zafar Iqbal, renowned filmmaker and founder of CFS Bangladesh, Morshedul Islam, General Secretary Munira Morshed Munni, and festival director of the 12th International Children’s Film Festival Bangladesh 2019, Mohammad Abir Ferdous were also present.

With 53 young delegates from all over Bangladesh,32 countries participated in the festival. 179 films by emerging filmmakers were selected for screening at the Shawkat Osman Memorial Auditorium of Central Public Library, Sufia Kamal Auditorium of Bangladesh National Museum, National Art Gallery of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy, Alliance Française de Dhaka, and British Council.

Workshops by Piplu Khan, Rubaiyat Hossain, Gias Uddin Selim, and Mejbaur Rahman Sumon enlightened the attendees during the six-day film carnival at the Sufia Kamal Auditorium of Bangladesh National Museum.

One of the main attractions of the festival was the Bangladeshi Children Filmmakers’ section, from which five films were awarded. The festival also had a contest where selected films from the international arena competed with Bangladeshi films.

11 awards, four of which were international and seven of which were national, were won by various filmmakers. The Best Film-International award was won by Marta Krunic for Zoe. Maryan Zahirimeh won the Best Director- International award for Endless while Tetsuya Tomina won the Best Feature Film-International award for Blue Wind Blows. Victor Nores took home the Best Short Film- International award for Space Mountain.

The other seven awards were won by Afrida Mehzabin for Aliveness (Best Film under 18 award), Prokriti Projukti Tusti for I am a ‘Hijra’, Give Me Some Money (2nd Best Film award), Prodipto Saha and Safi Ahammad for Suprovaat (3rd Best Film award), Wahid Raj for Boomerang (Social Film award), Biozid Al Mahmud for Forearm and Ishmum Naoar for Metanoia (Special Film award), and Hasnat Shohan for Rome Ancient Trees (Young Talent award). The winners were awarded certificates, crests, and cash prizes.

Published in the Daily Star


Leave a reply

© 2022 Children's Film Society Bangladesh

This website is designed & supported by Hootum Bangladesh Limited

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?